Ethnic Studies State Scan: Legislation

CC Network-Region 15 Logo

The Region 15 Comprehensive Center produced this legislative scan to generate an understanding of the relevant ethnic studies legislative efforts across the country. It summarizes recent legislative initiatives—those between February 2019 and January 2021—that require ethnic studies to be incorporated in the K–12 standards or curricula in 19 states (i.e., California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin) and the District of Columbia.