Oct 10, 2022 - Oct 10, 2022

Region 8 CC Presents: Accelerating Learning in Dayton Public Schools

Headshot of superintendent Dr. Elizabeth Lolli

3pm-4pm EST | 2pm-3pm CST | 1pm-2pm MST

Audience: Classroom Teachers, District Leaders, Community Members, State Education Agency Staff

Join the Region 8 Comprehensive Center to learn from Dayton Public Schools (DPS) superintendent, Dr. Elizabeth Lolli, how the placement of two teachers in the district’s first-, second-, and third-grade classrooms helped student achievement return to pre-COVID levels. Funded primarily with federal COVID relief monies, DPS’s two-teacher model represents a targeted and novel approach to learning acceleration. Participants will hear from Dr. Lolli about how her team conceptualized, prepared for, and implemented the model, with practical advice for others who might be interested in adopting or adapting it.

The Region 8 Comprehensive Center (CC) is one of 19 Regional CCs in the CC Network that provides high-quality, intensive capacity-building technical assistance to clients from state, regional, and local educational agencies and schools in Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio. Region 8 CC staff serve clients by helping to identify, implement, and sustain effective evidence-based programs, practices, and interventions that support improved educator and student outcomes. Through these capacity-building services, Region 8 CC staff help agency staff improve educational outcomes for all students, close achievement gaps, and improve the quality of instruction.